Website Generates Horrifically Awesome Twitter Bios

Mashable posted this article today about the website: What the F**k Is My Twitter Bio. This website will randomly generate a twitter bio for you following the formula that seems popular to most people today. Short phrases separated by commas, followed up by a couple word sentence. When I look at people’s bios that I follow, I see either a quote or something very similar to this formula. Heck, my twitter bio is this- “Lily ❤ South Western ’12. Lebanon Valley College ’16. DigiCOM major and LVC Football #59.” Which basically fits the formula that the website is making fun of (although the content of it isn’t as stupid).

I think it’s interesting that a lot of people do this, including myself. Why not use sentences or longer than 2-3 word phrases? The only reason that I can think of is to allow people to figure out who you are and what you project yourself to be in the shortest amount of time and reading possible. I also find it funny that some Twitter users will actually use a bio similar to something generated by the website and think that it’s funny and/or cool. When I see a bio like that I usually immediately make a judgement on that person as someone that I dislike, even if I don’t know a single thing about that person other than their Twitter bio.

This topic also makes me think of another social media trend that I dislike- the super popular “technique” of putting a filter on a picture. It seems like a lot of people do it and to stupid pictures too. Sometimes, yes, the filter adds to the photograph. But, most of the time, we don’t care about your sepia filter on your dinner that you ate tonight. My girlfriend loves to put filters on a lot of the pictures she takes on her iPhone and it annoys me. What’s wrong with the original picture? If I want a picture of us together, and it has a filter on it, I’ll actually tell her to take if off before she sends it to me.

Leave a Reply

